Warren Jones passes away. The last person to operate the Apple Tree Diner

I just received word that one of my earliest “Diner Buddies” Warren Jones passed away. I spoke with his mother, Ona Jones this morning and she told me the sad news. I did not want to bother her with questions (where, when, etc.) and so I gave her my condolences and told her I would keep in touch. I called the town clerk’s office where they lived and found out Warren passed away on August 22, 2007. I knew he was battling cancer and that he was very sick so I guess it was not a total surprise. For those of you who do not know, Warren was the last person to operate the Apple Tree Diner, (a 1929 vintage Worcester diner with a monitor roof) at it’s only address, Washington Street (Rte. 1A) in Dedham, Mass. He ran the diner from around 1977 through July of 1981 when the property the diner was on was sold to a developer. He moved the diner to Foxboro where he hoped to set up an expanded version of the restaurant in a shopping center parking lot. That deal unfortunately fell through and the diner ended up in at least 2 other storage sites and sold to one other person until Dave Waller bought the diner in 1988 for his private collection.
I had many a good time hanging with Warren and his family prior to his move to North Carolina in the late 1980’s. I have had sporadic contact with him over the years since but there was one constant, his mother and I have been exchanging Christmas cards forever (it seems) so there was always some contact. I only wish I knew sooner so I could have paid my respects to the family. Warren Jones was 57 years old.
Goodbye old friend, we will miss you!

One thought on “Warren Jones passes away. The last person to operate the Apple Tree Diner

  1. I’ve been trying to find out where it is now -just curious
    one place mentioned is “saran type wrapped” & on stilts in
    Pawtucket and may be refurbished by students in
    Smithfield RI also noticed two different Worc. Manufacturers
    Numbers give in the two places I found mention of it
    on google!

Leave a Reply

