A Tribute to Michael Paul Smith, a true artist in Forced Perspective Photography

elginpark_06_2000
Michael Paul Smith with a diorama set up of Elgin Park
courtesy of Michael Paul Smith archives

I was saddened to hear the news that Michael Paul Smith had passed away on November 19, 2018. I will go into a little more detail below, but as an intro; Smith , who described himself as a recluse, became well known world-wide for his unbelievably detailed forced perspective digital photos of diorama scenes utilizing his rather large collection of 1/24 scale die-cast car & truck models along with scratch-built model buildings combined with actual outdoor scenes.

There was no formal obituary at the time of his death, but within a week or so I was “tagged” by my long-time Society for Commercial Archeology friend, Brian Butko in a Facebook post he wrote that alerted his followers and Facebook friends about this. I believe there was a link to a piece from Hemmings Motor News which effectively became a default obituary for Michael. Here is that link… https://www.hemmings.com/blog/2018/11/27/modeler-michael-paul-smith-permanently-moves-to-elgin-park-at-age-67/ .

For those who do not know of Michael Paul Smith, he lived for many years on the edge of downtown Winchester, Massachusetts in the third floor of a large Victorian house. He had a pleasant soft-spoken personality and described himself as a recluse, although he did not actually avoid making contact with other people, he just kept to himself for the most part. He grew up near Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in the small town of Sewickley.

According to his Bio, his family moved to Massachusetts where he graduated from high school and eventually ended up studying at the Worcester Art Museum as well as UMass Amherst. Michael had bounced around “employment-wise” in the early years after college, trying out various professions including working for a cabinet maker, a short-lived (one day) stint as a mail carrier, a bartender, and an art director for an advertising agency. He also started a wallpaper and painting business and in another career move, made models for an architectural firm.

Smith was an avid modeller from an early age and the skills he developed over his life helped him to become one of the most widely known artists using a small point and shoot digital camera to create forced perspective photographs that truly fooled his many fans world-wide. The seeds of this began in the 1990s when he started collecting super detailed die-cast car and truck models produced by companies like Danbury Mint and Franklin Mint, as well as others.

Smith’s fondness for classic automobile design from the 1920s thru the 50s inspired him to eventually start an over two decade-long endeavor of utilizing his skills (learned from building architectural models) to create 1/24th scale buildings to be used as a set-up for photographing his die cast models of cars and trucks. His first dioramas were mostly shot inside. He eventually moved his dioramas outside and used actual street backdrops to line-up his model buildings and cars in naturally lighted situations where the viewer was hard pressed to see where the diorama ended and the real background started…

The photos were eventually posted on a Flickr page he developed that he dubbed “Elgin Park” https://www.flickr.com/photos/24796741@N05/ . Elgin Park was a fictionalized (and certainly idealized) place based on his boyhood hometown of Sewickley, PA. After some publicity from a British website, Smith’s viewership of his Flickr page mushroomed and went viral with millions of hits almost over night. I myself saw some of these a number of years ago through postings on Facebook and other places. I was totally amazed at the photographs and skill it took to create these images. Here are some of my favorites….

elgin-park-5

 

elgin-park-3

 

fstoppers_michael-paul-smith-model-maker_gary-w-martin-9

 

elgin-park-6

 

elgin-park-diner-1

 

elgin-park-diner-2

 

The Flickr page eventually led to 2 books Smith co-authored with his friend Gail K. Ellison. The first was Elgin Park, An Ideal American town published in 2011…

elgin-park-1_

This first book was in a way an extension of his Flickr page with loads of photos of the dioramas. He did not go into too much detail as to his process that created the images.

This book was followed by Elgin Park, The 1/24th-scale creation of a fictitious mid 20th century American town published in 2015…

elgin-park-2

The second book was physically quite large and possibly the most expensive book I ever purchased. After hearing of Michael’s passing, I dug out both this and the first book from my personal library to prepare to write this blog post. This second book went into extreme detail to describe the process involved in creating his scenes. All the little tricks of the trade (so to speak) to create scratch-built model buildings, back drops and miscellaneous detailed equipment/pieces to enhance the individual scenes were spelled out. There were also select comments from his legion of world-wide on-line fans as well as his responses to them.

It was not until I read a Boston Globe article about Michael Paul Smith and his Elgin Park project close after the time that the second book was published that I realized we had met back in 1995. I have been associated with the Society for Commercial Archeology (SCA), becoming a member in 1981, I had attended many of the organizations events held in the northeast since that time. In late 1988, I had started contributing by authoring the first-ever regular column in the SCA’s News Journal (later to be known as the Journal magazine). I named it Diner Hotline (surprise) and wrote for the Journal for over 18 years before retiring the column and starting this blog.

The last event the SCA held in the Boston area (and in fact, New England) occurred on June 23-24, 1995, dubbed the “New England Diner Weekend”, this event was organized locally by myself and Richard J. S. Gutman on the Massachusetts part and Daniel Zilka on the Rhode Island part, along with national assistance by SCA’ers Tania Werbizky, Pete Phillips and Mike Bennett. The event centered on visiting two major exhibits celebrating the American Diner, the first exhibit was at the National Heritage Museum in Lexington, Massachusetts curated by Richard Gutman and named after his landmark book, “American Diner Then & Now”.

The second was a smaller exhibit at the Rhode Island Historical Society  which noted the Ocean State’s place in diner history as the birthplace of the horse-drawn lunch wagon. Starting in Lexington at a Friday night reception and continuing the next day with a bus tour going from Lexington to Worcester, Mass. and then on to Providence, RI. The weather cooperated and it was a huge success. We had a large attendance including many locals from Massachusetts and New England as well as people from around the country. Michael Paul Smith was one of those attending.

During the event, I had brought along a handful of photos to show interested people of a diner-related personal project I had started around January of 1995. This project was a completely new thing for me, a scratch-built model of the Star Lite Diner, Worcester Lunch Car No. 817 which was located in my hometown of Medford, Massachusetts from 1948 to 1968. I had some H.O. scale plastic models of diners in my collection, some built primarily as they came, others I had “kit-bashed” to look different. This new model was the first attempt at doing something on this scale (so to speak). The Star Lite was a diner that I actually patronized as a kid and was hugely disappointed when they closed for their usual vacation in the summer of 1968 and never reopened. The diner was reportedly moved to a salvage yard and never survived.

The model was not built to any particular scale such as 1/24, etc. I just used graph paper to draw a representational plan that was in perspective and looked right to me. The model ended up being approximately 30 inches long. At the time of the SCA event in June of 95, the exterior had been completed. I had accomplished this level of completion in a few short weeks and took the photos which were processed in February of 95.

star-lite-diner-model-1
My large, scratch-built model of the Star Lite Diner from the group of photos I brought along to the SCA New England Diner Weekend to show interested people. By the way it is sitting on an actual Worcester Lunch Car table….

star-lite-diner-model-2
Second view of the scratch-built model of the Star Lite Diner

star-lite-diner-model-3
Third view of the scratch-built model of the Star Lite Diner

star-lite-diner-model-4
Fourth view of the scratch-built model of the Star Lite Diner

As I said, Michael and I met sometime during the New England Diner weekend, in fact it may have been at the stop we made to the Modern Diner in Pawtucket, RI. I showed him the photos of my Star Lite Diner model and he immediately was enthusiastic about what I had accomplished. I do recall he asked about the scale of it and told him I did not use any particular scale. We quickly found out that we lived about 7 minutes or so (by car) from each other. I was living on Osborne Road in Medford, about 2 blocks from the town line with Winchester. He lived about a mile and a half from there near the center of town. We made arrangements for me to visit with him soon after and I brought the model with me. We visited at his home for an hour or so and he was impressed with my diner model and how improvised it was with little or no materials other than balsa and bass wood and other items I used to create it. Now don’t get me wrong, I think I did pretty well for this attempt to build the model but my expertise was nowhere in the same ballpark as Michael’s modelling experience. Be that as it may, little did I know that this chance encounter may have actually led to Michael’s near future project of creating Elgin Park….

During that early  visit, Michael dragged out a paper bag filled with advertising match books when he found out I collected those. In that whole bag, there was one match book from Duffs Diner & Dining Room in Winchester, VA. It was a very odd size, overly large (4.25″ long x 3.35″ wide, closed) but a real beauty. He donated it to my collection…

duff's-diner-mb-front
Front view of Duff’s Diner Matchbook

duff's-diner-mb-back
Back view of Duff’s Diner Matchbook

duff's-diner-mb-inside

Inside view of Duff’s Diner Matchbook with only a small amount of matches

After we visited that day in 1995 we did not keep in touch and I certainly had no clue that this whole “Elgin Park” project would evolve within the next few years. Fast Forward 20 plus years later after I discovered that it was he who had been behind all those wonderful diorama photos, I decided to contact him through his Flickr page and he responded. I asked if he remembered me and he said, yes, of course. So we made arrangements for myself and my wife Denise to visit him on Sunday, June 26, 2016. I brought a copy of each of my Diner books which I signed for him as well as my copy of his 2015 Elgin Park book (for him to sign for me).

lac-&-mps_06-26-2016

 

mps-models_06-26-2016

He also gave me a copy of his first Elgin Park book from 2011, which he signed as well. I noticed when he signed my copy of the 2015 Elgin Park book, he also left an inscription that totally floored me and took me by surprise…

michael-paul-smith-inscription

After seeing the inscription, it dawned on me that he considered our 1995 meeting pivotal in his process of going down the road he would travel to end up creating Elgin Park and thus, become internationally known for this endeavor. I was floored by this knowledge as well as humbled. I certainly do not give myself any credit for what Michael accomplished as it was all him and his talent as well as ability to create these lasting images which legions of fans world-wide have enjoyed for years.

Rest In Peace my friend…..

 

6 thoughts on “A Tribute to Michael Paul Smith, a true artist in Forced Perspective Photography

  1. I too knew Michael and was a close friend for the last three years. It makes perfect sense that you two would have connected. Although I have a strong diner connection, my intro to Michael was as part of an exploration of things that are miniaturized – doll houses, ship models. model railroads, etc. and I sought him out to get his take on the subject. He acquiesced and almost three years ago we became fast, close friends. I think of him often and miss him quite a bit.

    There will be a Memorial Service of sorts sometime in the spring – please let me know if you are interested in attending. You and I met briefly at the Barnes and Noble in Salem, NH where I bought/you signed your NH book.

    Finally – one of my great treasures is the diner model you highlighted in your post – it’s sitting up on a shelf about four feet from where I’m sitting. Michael also gave me a number of the construction and setup photos – a monumental gift, I’d say.

    Regards – Richard Davis / Andover, MA

    On Sat, Jan 12, 2019 at 3:42 AM Diner Hotline Weblog wrote:

    > dinerhotline posted: ” Michael Paul Smith with a diarama set up of Elgin > Park courtesy of Michael Paul Smith archives I was saddened to hear the > news that Michael Paul Smith had passed away on November 19, 2018. I will > go into a little more detail below, but as an intro; Smit” >

  2. Oh wow, Larry – what a story! We never know when what we do may inspire someone, do we? Thank you for sharing it. I remember that diner weekend, it was a milestone weekend in my life for many reasons – one of which was meeting so many like minded diner-ites! Crazy – that is coming up on 24 YEARS ago. Time flies!

  3. Will do. y the way, that’s one sweet model you built – Michael must have loved that! And – setting on the path to Elgin Park? That’s as good as it gets! Stay warm..

    rad

    On Sat, Jan 12, 2019 at 3:42 AM Diner Hotline Weblog wrote:

    > dinerhotline posted: ” Michael Paul Smith with a diarama set up of Elgin > Park courtesy of Michael Paul Smith archives I was saddened to hear the > news that Michael Paul Smith had passed away on November 19, 2018. I will > go into a little more detail below, but as an intro; Smit” >

  4. Michael contacted me after reading a column about my father I had written for the local newspaper. He e-mailed me, which started a massive exchange between the two of us. We connected on everything pretty much. Michael is the Edward Hopper of American Modeling. I think he would like that phrase. Our friendship was far too short and pretty much ended after his stroke. If any friends are interested in reading some of his amazing e-mails to me, I am Eric Green, the artist and writer from Belfast, Maine. One odd thing is I described a dream to him in 2016. In the dream I dreamt in detail the model railroad I am building in 1/48th scale. I had forgotten all that until Michael died and I went over our exchanges And for the record, in 62 years, I have never once eaten in a fast food chain restaurant because I always LOVED diners.

  5. I came across your website when hoping to find details of a Boston Diner I once visited (2008?) with a close friend, who sadly passed away. She lived near Harvard Square and we drove North from there about only 25-35 minutes. If you could help me rediscover it that would be grand, it’s a very sentimental connection.

    But now back to Michael Paul-Smith. I was the fella that introduced MPS to the wider world. We are both ‘boyhood-familiar’ with that part of Pennsylvania, and working as architectural model-makers.

    I work in London, have some good pals at Classic and Sportscar magazine, and over breakfast with them sat in the nearest UK equivalent to a US diner (one allowing our classic cars parked outside) the editor had a question.

    Editor Mick Walsh of C&SC, was short on ideas for his Automobilia feature for the coming month’s issue, I showed Mick photos of Mike’s models, and soonafter that was when the Paul-Smith’s fotos were first published. The rest is history as they say.

    Years later I received a nice letter from MPS thanking me, so that’s nice (and useful for any internet doubtful).

    Back to my diner search; the one I’m seeking looked a lot like the Shrewsbury Street’s Boulevard Diner many miles west in Worcester.

    Thanks, Rick Armiger

    • Hi Rick,
      I saw your comment. Thanks for letting me know of your MPS connection. There are not many diners around that look like the Boulevard. The only one that sort of looks like that is the Pilgrim Diner in Salem, Massachusetts. That location is possibly 25 to 30 minutes from Cambridge.

      Larry Cultrera

Leave a comment