Bel-Aire Diner moved to rear of lot (as predicted)

Well, those photos on my previous post show the Bel-Aire Diner in its last couple of weeks fronting directly on U.S. Rte. 1 in Peabody, Mass. As I said at the bottom of that post, I did not think the diner would remain where it was for long as construction on the new building was progressing fairly quick. This morning I drove by at about 5:45am and it was still up on cribbing in front of the new building. This afternoon was a different story, it was gone! So as I drove I looked and sure enough, the diner was now in the extreme rear of the lot to the right of the gas station surrounded by a fence. The entryway vestibule was removed and I assume it is in pieces with the diner behind that fence.

Here is a photo from better days when it was still operating…..


Bel-Aire Diner, photo by Larry Cultrera

Leave a Reply

