Memorial Day Weekend roadside places visited

Memorial Day weekend, 2010 was fantastic, weather-wise and we managed to get a few roadside visits in during the 3-day weekend. Denise and I went into southern New Hampshire early Saturday to take care of a Memorial Day obligation in Hudson. We then went west on Rte. 101A to have breakfast at the Red Arrow Diner in Milford. (It was a great breakfast by the way!). We also visited Kane’s Donuts back home in Saugus in the early afternoon. The remodeling of their store is coming along nicely and should be finished in a month.

Sunday was breakfast at the Capitol Diner in Lynn, Mass. They are getting ready to re-paint the exterior and owner Bob Fennell tells me they are going to try custom Vinyl lettering to replace the painted letters this time around.

Late Sunday morning we took a longer trip down Rte. 1A from Dedham to Attleboro (Mass.) and then got on I-295 to head over to the A & W Drive-In in Smithfield, RI. I have been in touch with them in recent months as we are friends on Facebook. I was sent a birthday gift certificate via email and thought this was a perfect opportunity to re-visit the place.

I had actually been by there in October of 1995 and shot some photos of it. I had uploaded these photos to them recently and they have them on their FB photos page. The stand has been revamped since I took those shots (see my new shots below).


Smithfield A & W Drive-In, photo May 30, 2010 by Larry Cultrera


Smithfield A & W Drive-In, photo May 30, 2010 by Larry Cultrera


Smithfield A & W Drive-In, photo May 30, 2010 by Larry Cultrera


Smithfield A & W Drive-In, photo May 30, 2010 by Larry Cultrera

They offer car-hop service as well as walk-up ordering. There is a small covered patio to sit in or of course you can sit in your vehicle. The food was great and I took note of the reasonable prices and fairly good size menu. I got a #7 combo – 2 Hot Dogs, French Fries and a Root Beer and Denise got the Chicken Strips and French Fries.

They have Cruise Nights for Classic cars (Tuesday Nights) and also every first Wednesday (beginning June 2nd) they will have Bike Night. I can certainly recommend that if you are ever in the area, stop in and check them out.

Monday we were at Kane’s Donuts again and by 10:00am we were at Hago Harrington’s Miniature Golf in Stoneham, Mass. for a round of Mini Golf. It is always a pleasant and fun time although I did pretty lousy as far as my score.


Hago Harrington’s Miniature Golf, Rte. 28 Stoneham, Mass.

4 thoughts on “Memorial Day Weekend roadside places visited

  1. It’s getting harder and harder to find skilled sign painters who can do lettering like that on the Capitol Diner. Still, I wonder how vinyl will work for them. Because it sticks on the surface, it has a tendency to peel. The Miss Albany Diner’s stick-on lettering, attractive when new, is almost gone by now.

  2. It’s great to see A&W stands continue! So many memories of them. The one on Rt 6 in Fairhaven was a regular for us in the 60’s. Thankfully there is one up here in Lake George. You should start a poll on where your followers find the best burgers! The only ones that ever competed with the A&W ones I had were ones I had at DQ! Neither were as great as one I had at Caeey’s Diner in Natick though.

  3. Larry- sounds like you had a fabulous weekend! I was thinking of swinging by that A&W stand on my way home from Mass yesterday but had eaten so much over the weekend ( and leftovers for breakfast ) that I didn’t even feel hungry ’til 1/2 way through Connecticut. Glad you went to Hago’s- always a fave place of mine.
    Wouldn’t it be nice to be able to do these fun things all the time? Sigh!

Leave a Reply

