Don Williams inducted into Country Music Hall of Fame

Some people may be wondering why I am posting about a performer being inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame on a Diner blog. Well let me assure you there is a “Diner” connection to this. In my collection of Diner Memorabilia, I have a sub-collection of 33 1/3 rpm vinyl record albums that feature “Diners” in their cover art, (case in point – the Abandoned Luncheonette album by Daryl Hall & John Oates). One of the other albums in the collection is actually a signed promo copy of Don Williams’ Cafe Carolina, see image below…..

In the photo on the album cover, Don is sitting at a table inside Loftis Lunch located in Nashville, TN. My pal John Baeder is credited with the “Art Direction” for this album and the photo was shot by John’s friend, “McGuire”. Right after John sent this promo copy to me circa 1984, I called John to thank him and also to ask him an important question about the photo, I asked him, was the photo on the album cover shot after the one John took of me in October of 1983. He said yes! It seems the photo below of me sitting in the exact same place may have been an inspiration for the album cover!


Larry Cultrera (me) sitting at the same table in Loftis Lunch
Photo by John Baeder, circa October, 1983


Loftis Lunch, Nashville, TN circa October, 1983 photo by Larry Cultrera

Loftis Lunch was a site-built diner-type restaurant circa 1930’s. I’m not sure it is operating anymore but it certainly was a unique place.

Anyway, I’d like to congratulate Don Williams for getting inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame. See the link below for more info.
http://blogs.tennessean.com/tunein/2010/02/23/jimmy-dean-ferlin-husky-billy-sherrill-don-williams-to-join-country-music-hall-of-fame/

2 thoughts on “Don Williams inducted into Country Music Hall of Fame

  1. It definitely looks like the photo of you was the inspiration (or at least a dry run) for the the album cover. Don Williams has an great, one-of-a-kind voice and this honor is way overdue in my opinion. I’m not a huge country music fan, but I’ve never heard a song of his that I didn’t like.

    Are you a singer too, Larry? 😉

Leave a Reply

