A rare Paramount Diner in North Carolina

I received an email from Debra Jane Seltzer of Agilitynut Roadside website http://www.agilitynut.com/roadside.html last week. She was inquiring whether I knew anything about a diner in Greensboro, NC. She sent a couple of photos that were shot by Robby Delius that showed a late 1940’s Paramount Diner. I replied to her that I recalled a post card of a similar diner (so I checked my collection and actually found one). It was the Southern Queen Hot Shoppe.


Postcard view of the Southern Queen Hot Shoppe

Hot Shoppe Restaurants were started in 1927 by J. Willard Marriott, the company later became the Marriott Corporation. I am not sure if this was part of the chain, if it was, it certainly was out of the ordinary.

The diner currently is in a different location from the postcard image and according to a manager that I spoke with briefly, it is in fact the smoking section of La Bamba Mexican Restaurant at 2702 High Point Road in Greensboro. It is attached to the rear of the main building of the restaurant so if you were approaching the establishment you would not see the diner.


Photo by Robby Delius, courtesy of Debra Jane Seltzer


Photo by Robby Delius, courtesy of Debra Jane Seltzer

I was actually amazed this diner still existed and Debra also commented that no one had this listed. I am not sure how much of the interior is still original and would love it if someone checked this out and got back to me.

2 thoughts on “A rare Paramount Diner in North Carolina

  1. I am headed to Floridia on the 26th of December, and found out due to the Sat Sun thing, I will have an extra day of traveling, so here is my TRUE reason for an extra day! I will check it out.
    (I am researching a diner in greenville, SC and will do that monday or tuesday))

  2. I am the photographer. The photos were taken 2 years ago. I looked in city directories and the address had changed, I could not make any sense to the address change. It might have been across the street from where it is now. The listings were from the 1950s
    Robby

Leave a Reply

