Diner Hotline Weblog 2 years old today!

lac-yankee
From  a 1991 Yankee magazine article called “Devoted to Diners”

Today marks the 2 year anniversary of this blog being on the internet! The time has gone by so fast. Of course the blog follows just about 19 years of the hardcopy version of Diner Hotline featured as a regular column in  the SCA’s (Society for Commercial Archeology’s)  Journal magazine. In fact, if I think about it, towards the end of the coming month, I have been photographing diners 29 years.

Whoo!!!! Time really has flown! I was a mere 27 years old when I shot my first diner….  the Bypass Diner of Harrisburg, PA (now the American Dream Diner), see below……

bypass
The very first Diner photograph I ever shot!

Some stats from the blog since 10-31-07…

Total Views = 71, 727
Posts (including this one) = 190
Approved Comments = 481
Busiest Day = 511 views, 1-16-09

Thank you to everyone who are regular readers of this blog! I know I’m having fun writing it!

Larry Cultrera

13 thoughts on “Diner Hotline Weblog 2 years old today!

  1. Larry, Always enjoyable….a daily must read. Also a much belated thanks for the Service Diner info you sent me back when I was leasing it. The last time it was run as a REAL diner. I have been painting diners and roadside since. Keep up the GREAT work. Chris

  2. Thanks Ted, someday we’ll have to get together.

    Thanks to you as well, Rich. I’m thinking of breakfast at Tim’s in Leominster this month on a Saturday morning (early), you up for it?

    Beth, never mind me being an inspiration for you! Your blog is purely fun! I can’t get enough of your efforts.

    Chris, long time no hear! Glad to see you’re still out there. I almost forgot about providing you with info. I will email you soon.

  3. Happy Blog-iversary! Keep up the good work – Diner Hotline is always a great read.

    North Shore Dish will be celebrating it’s first anniversary next week, and we’ve got a long way to go to catch up with your stats.🙂

    Cheers!

  4. Larry, Happy B-Day………..This site is great and I check it out a few times a week. I took my two boys (ages 5 and 8) to Kelly’s Diner in Ball Square yesterday for breakfast and you’d have thought I took them to Disney. Great food too

  5. Larry, Every Monday night I am right there on The Food Network watching another episode of Guy Fieri’s Diners, Drive-ins & Dives. For the past 3 weeks he has featured a diner from Massachusetts and I have a feeling we will see more in the coming weeks. The last two seasons of the show seemed to focus on the Northwest section of the country (Utah Washington state etc…) Maybe the northeast is the focus on this season. Of course we cannot forget his visit to Kelly’s in Ball Square in Somerville a few years ago

Leave a Reply

