Dan’s Diner closed already?

dans-diner-4

According to a comment posted here this weekend by Peter Myers, Dan’s Diner of Spencertown, NY has closed after a few short months!  This 1925 vintage Jerry O’Mahony diner was painstakingly restored over a number of years by Dan Rundell.

It had previously been operated as Moe’s Diner on Rte. 17 in Durham, CT, where it was later known as the Durham Diner prior to being moved to Spencertown (RTE.203) in 1993. I met Dan Rundell at the auction for pieces of  Vree’s Sterling Diner (Saugus) in Medford circa 2003. He called me 10/8/05 to say the restoration is 95% complete. At that time he was looking into having replica etched windows made.

moes-diner-2
Moe’s Diner aka Durham Diner circa August, 1984 photo by
Larry Cultrera

Here is Peter’s comment about the closing…. 
The timing was not best for Dan’s Diner. It opened just before Winter (run by a ms. Jenny Strom) and so much of the clientele around here are weekenders! Many locals don’t go out for breakfast, especially in this economy. So it has sadly closed already. I hope they re-open this summer…..It’s a real cool place….

7 thoughts on “Dan’s Diner closed already?

  1. I had heard that Dan’s Diner closed for the winter, but as far as I knew they were planning to reopen in the spring. Mike Engle and I will stay on top of this.

    Fortunately people driving New York’s Taconic Parkway have lots of other diner choices: going south from Dan’s, there’s O’s Eatery (space age Fodero), Chief Martindale Diner(SC), West Taghkanic Diner(MV), Elizaville Diner(K), Village Diner(SC), and Millbrook Diner(O), all within a couple of miles of the Parkway. For variety and quality of vintage diners, I can’t think of a better diner drive!

    • DANS DINER IS OPEN AND DOING WONDERFUL BUSINESS. IT’S BEEN RUN BY JAMIE ABITABLE SINCE MARCH OF 2010. PLEASE COME IN, ENJOY DAN’S HARD WORK AND JAMIE’S GREAT COOKING. THE STAFF IS SO KIND AND THE FOOD IS DELICIOUS!

  2. Hi, The diner will be reopening on Wednesday, March 9th, 2010 at 6 am. Hours will be Wednesday-Friday, 6am to 2pm and Saturday and Sunday, 7am to 2pm. Under the new management of Jamie Abitabile and Dottie “Lou” Horton-Kratt.
    We will be offering a great menu. Breakfast served all day and daily lunch specials. Hope to see you there.

  3. I want to wish Dottie and Jaime the best of luck at Dans Diner. It is a work of art and a treasure to visit. I gave the Diner it’s trial run October, 2008 – January 2009. It was a blast on the wknds, with people standing two deep for seats! Unfortunately, without a public restroom or a real kitchen, combined with the overhead cost of insurance, utilities, payroll tax, and rent – not to mention it’s unique semi-rural location – the jam-packed weekends were not enough to sustain it in the long run. We ran numbers over and over, reducing food & labor to skeletal proportions but it was too tight to offer a living wage to even 1-2 staff.

    I loved it, and remain thankful to owner Dan Rundell for allowing me to check it out! He was the best “unofficial partner” I’ve ever had! I look forward to a burger on the back deck this summer.

    Best Wishes!

    • Jennifer,
      I just read your post. Thank you so much………wish I had read it earlier. I hope things work out for the diner. I am no longer a partner there, Jamie is running it herself with a small staff.
      I agree about the limited space and hope it can find a way to sustain itself. I went into the business with hopes of having a year-round occupation (I garden for a living and that’s seasonal). However, it did not take long for me to learn that the schedule was just too grueling when you have a 7 year old. I am now back in the dirt, where I belong.
      Dan is fantastic, you couldn’t ask for anyone better to work with. He was always there for us and I hope the diner will be successful for his sake. He did an amazing job with the renovations and people should stop in and check it out. Air conditioning is now installed for those hot days and there are outdoor seating available for the warmer weather.
      It will be interesting to see how things go…………I hope it will be a success.

  4. OPEN MONDAY-FRIDAY 6AM-2PM
    FRIDAY NIGHTS …NOW OPEN FOR DINNER 5-8PM
    SATURDAYS 7AM-1PM
    SUNDAYS 8AM-NOON

    Please join the girls at Dan’s Diner for a wonderful Dining Experience!

Leave a Reply

