Visit to Tex Barry’s Coney Island Hot Dogs

On the way down to Providence on Wednesday after work to attend the event at the Culinary Arts Museum, I planned on stopping at a diner I have only eaten at once or twice. It is called Tex Barry’s Coney Island Hot Dogs in Attleboro, Mass. It was once part of a chain of 14 outlets in the southeast part of the Bay State (and into Rhode Island, I believe) of which only 2 survive. The other one is in Taunton, Mass. The Attleboro location is housed in a late 1920’s vintage Worcester Lunch Car.

In my early days of documenting diners with my photographs, Tex Barry’s was at a different location in Attleboro. It was 1981 when I first checked out downtown Attleboro and at that time there were 4 old diners still there. Tex Barry’s was on Union Street behind the old Post Office in a Worcester diner of similar vintage. Around the corner was the old Franklin Diner which at that time was closed, (eventually to be torn down) another late 1920’s Worcester. Over on Bank Street (if I remember correctly) was the former Barney’s Diner operating as the Cable Car Diner, a 1940’s vintage Worcester, and over at Tex Barry’s current location on County Street there was Desi’s Diner. This diner has gone under many names over the years and Arthur Bombadier, the current owner has a list of almost a dozen names.

Within a year or two, Desi’s actually was operated under another name and then Tex Barry’s moved in when their old place was demolished. They serve mainly hot dogs and hamburgers as well as french fries. I had a couple of chili dogs and some fries (I should have had a third dog) with some spring water. In my opinion this place is always worth a stop when you are in the area and check out their old Hot Dog neon sign!

11 thoughts on “Visit to Tex Barry’s Coney Island Hot Dogs

  1. Nice history Larry thanks.

    Their chili dogs are really quite good. The chili is not too hot but has enough bite to remind you it’s there.

    –Rich

  2. Hi Larry
    Thanks for the write up about Tex Barry’s Diner. The next time your driving through be sure to stop by and this time go for 3 dogs.
    This is an excellent website about diners, I have a lot of reading to do.
    Take care….Arthur

  3. Arthur, it was my pleasure! Thanks for the compliments on the blog! I wish I lived closer to Tex Barry’s, I would be there more often.

  4. Greetings Larry: I enjoyed reading your write up of Tex Barry’s Coney Island Hotdogs in Attleboro. Although I have lived in Attleboro for almost 8 years, I never had the pleasure of trying one of Tex Barry’s dogs. Now that I no longer live in Attleboro, I am very eager to go try one. Tex Barry’s was also on Chronicle last night, Tuesday, February 10, 2009 which made me even more excited with anticipation of eating one of the famous dogs.
    Take care…Valerie

  5. I remember going to Tex Barry’s in Somerset, MA with my dad in the late 60’s. I think Tex used to race at Seekonk Speedway back in the day. How great those chili dogs were!

  6. Hi Rick, I understand there were possibly 15 different Tex Barry’s stores at one time. I only know 2 locations still operating, Attleboro and Taunton. They are not affiliated with each other from what I know.

  7. we love these hot dogs, we remember when tex barrys was on union street, right near the old post office, there was a contest one day on who can eat the most hotdogs.. i think i ate 10 but the winner ate like 50, great times….complements to the chef and his help.. greg!

  8. Best damn chili dogs ever!!
    When I travel to Old Orchard Beach or Boston from Canada, I always take the extra time to go to Tex Barry’s and indulge in these dogs. So worth the trip!!

  9. Hi Larry

    Where was Dandy Diner 1933 WLC #718 originally in Attleboro, Massachusetts? What other names did it go by? Roadside online lists it as being in storage in Providence but I have not been able to locate it.

    Thanks
    Len

    • Len, the Dandy Diner (I knew it as the Cable Car Diner) was on Bank Street. I believe it is an empty lot now. It also went by Barney’s Diner if I can recall.

Leave a Reply

