“Notes from the Hotline”, February 18th

Saturday’s Breakfast at Blanchard’s 101 Diner

Denise and I, as planned went out to Worcester and had a great breakfast at Blanchard’s 101 Diner! Denise had a fresh-baked corn muffin while I as predicted had the “Italian Breakfast” which was delicious. Denise was impressed with the overall appearance of the diner and I enjoyed talking with Chris Blanchard during our visit.

They seemed to be doing a good business for 7:30 in the morning and I can only predict that once they iron out or tweak any small operating glitches (there are bound to be some of these in a new venture such as this) this will certainly be another wonderful destination for locals as well as visitors to the area to seek out for breakfast and lunch (dinner hours are scheduled for Thursday thru Saturday).

Former Whistlestop Diner in Peabody, Mass. reopens as The Little Depot Diner

railrd5.gif

The Little Depot Diner has opened in Peabody recently. This diner is Worcester Lunch Car No. 650 and was originally delivered to Lynn, Mass. as Harry’s Diner, Dec. 11th, 1929.
It has been in Peabody since 1950 and was long operated as Kurly’s Diner until the early 1980’s. It was alterred after Mort and Inez Kurland sold it and it was renamed the Railroad Diner (it is adjacent to an abandoned rail line). More recently it was operated by Barbara Henry as the Whistlestop Diner, keeping the railroad theme alive.

It has been closed for over a year and had a “for sale” sign on it. This sign was taken down in recent months and some work was being done to it within the last few weeks.
I got a message from Bob Higgins of Methuen who informed me that on his way to the Salem Diner yesterday for a late breakfast, he noticed it was reopened as the Little Depot Diner (continuing the railroad theme yet again).

Ironically, Denise and I were at the Salem Diner ourselves yesterday (but much earlier than Bob) and we had bypassed Peabody Center (where the Little Depot Diner is located) to get over to the Salem, so we did not see the diner had opened.

I stopped by today (lucky me, I had a paid holiday) and it was closed for President’s Day. I took note of their operating hours and it is strongly remeniscent of the Whistlestop’s. The diner is open Monday – Friday 7:00 am to 2:00 pm for breakfast and lunch, and Saturday hours are 7:00 am – 12:00 pm (just breakfast). Sundays are 8:00 am – 1:00 pm (just breakfast).
I might be checking them out some Saturday morning just to see how they are doing.

Dunkin’ Donuts Fun Club Ring….
the oldest piece of commercial memorabilia in my collection

dunkin-ring.gif

Here is a photo of the Dunkin’ Donuts Fun Club Ring I have had in my collection (before it was a collection) for quite some time. I believe I got it by sending away with some sort of entry form I picked up at the Dunkin’ Donuts shop located at Redstone Shopping Center in Stoneham, Mass between the ages of 7 and 10, by my recollection. I do not remember any other benefit from joining the Fun Club other than getting the ring. I have often wondered how many of these are still in existance.

2 thoughts on ““Notes from the Hotline”, February 18th

  1. Their original handout menu had the hours that I posted listed. They may have tweaked their opening hours. I will email Chris and find out what they are now.

Leave a Reply

