Don’s Diner

I am going to visit Don’s Diner in Plainville, Mass. this weekend. As the weather does not look too good for Saturday, Denise (my wife) and I are going to go down on Sunday morning for breakfast. This is a diner I’ve only eaten at a handful of times over the years and I want to remedy this! It was a beautiful 1950’s vintage stainless steel Mountain View Diner when I first photographed it in 1981. Since around 1991 or so the exterior has been covered with a mansard roof and vinyl siding but leaving the interior virtually all original. I have to say personally I have never seen the need to do this to a vintage diner, but again I am not the owner so I won’t second guess their decision.

Speaking of the owners, I have been in touch recently with Phyllis Perreault whose father-in-law was the 1st “Don” of Don’s Diner. He bought the original diner in 1936 when it was called Alicia’s Diner. A 9-stool Worcester Lunch Car with no booths, he renamed it Don’s and operated this diner until a fire claimed it circa 1961. The family then bought the former Mancini’s Service Diner  a 1946 vintage Worcester and moved it from Providence to replace the old diner. This diner was again replaced with the current Mountain View in 1969. This diner was formerly the Minute Man Diner and was located on Rte. 1 in Attleboro. They have a nice website (which was designed by Phyllis’ son Don) where you can see some pictures of the diner  and some other info. You can find it at   http://donsdiner.com

Anyway, I’m looking forward to getting down to the diner on Sunday, although Phyllis will not be there so it looks like I’ll get to meet her on the next visit!

Leave a Reply

