Posted by: dinerhotline | October 31, 2013

Diner Hotline Weblog celebrates 6 years!

Well, October 31st has rolled around again and this means I get to look back and remember that 6 years ago today the Diner Hotline Weblog was launched! As I have said in my “About” page, this blog was the continuation of my long-running column in the Society for Commercial Archeology’s Journal magazine. The column had debuted in the Spring 1988 edition of the SCA NewsJournal and within a few years I opted to have the column in the  SCA Journal instead of the SCA News when the entity was split into 2 separate publications. I wrote it until the summer of 2007 and Diner Hotline Weblog came about almost 3 months later at the urging of Brian Butko.Diner-Hotline-decal

 

Diner Hotline “Euro” decal

In the intervening 6 years, I am very proud of the posts I have written although I would like to write more frequent posts. Anyway The most popular post by far was the Abandoned Luncheonette post I did back in 2010 , co-written by Matt Simmons. I am also proud that writing this blog has lead to my authoring the book Classic Diners of Massachusetts (2011, The History Press) and now I am starting on a new book for the same publisher, New Hampshire Diners: Classic Granite State Eateries due out in the Fall of 2014. So, I want to thank all the my faithful readers/followers and fellow roadtrippers for coming along for the ride so far!

LAC-&-DH-decal

Responses

  1. Larry-

    Congratulations, and best wishes for the new book. I’m sure the Peterborough Diner will be among the entries. I

    -Pete Tuttle

  2. Congrats Larry! And happy blog-versary. Looking forward to more posts and your book as well!

  3. Happy Birthday. I look forward to your new book.

    The French Diners Lover

  4. Congratulations Larry! Your website and input on the Diner scene is one of the last remaining beacons in Dinerdom. Looking forward to many more years of your contributions.

  5. Hang in there, Larry. Always a great read!

  6. Congratulations Larry~! Love what you’re doing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 556 other followers

