Posted by: dinerhotline | June 17, 2008

Interesting Roadside places I have photographed

Over the years, I have photographed many diners. But also, being a member of the Society for Commercial Archeology since 1981, I have been moved to document other roadside places that were interesting. These included what is generally known as “Programatic Architecture”, basically buildings in the shape of what they sell or in the shape of other things such as “ships” and “boats”. Anyway, here are a few images of places that I had included in a power point slide show I did a couple of years ago I called “Local Roadside Memories”.

The Clam Box


Route 1A in Ipswich, Mass.

 Bayrd’s Indian Trading Post


Located on Route 129 in Wakefield, Mass., photo circa 1980’s
(now demolished)

The Ship Restaurant 


U.S. Route 1, Lynnfield, Mass.

 Sailor Tom’s House


Franklin Street, Reading, Mass. (Demolished 2007)

Sailor Tom’s house was part of a unique roadside restaurant that was a destination from the 1940’s through the 1950’s. The restaurant closed by the 1960’s and the house was the only structure that remained to remind anyone of what had been there. A new housing development is now being built there.

 The Big Duck


Riverhead, Long Island

The Big Duck was built by a local farmer to sell duck eggs in the 1930’s. It is currently in it’s third location and is a local landmark, used to sell souvenirs.

 The Milk Bottle


Route 138 in Raynham, Mass.

 Frates Dairy (another Milk Bottle shaped building)


Achushnet Avenue, New Bedford, Mass.

 Gallon Measure Gas Station


Route 9A, Albany Post Road, Buchanan, NY

 Salvador’s Ice Cream (Milk Can)


460 Smith Neck Road, South Dartmouth, Mass., photo circa 1980’s.

 Nipper (on building)


Broadway, Albany, NY. Just down the street
from the Miss Albany Diner

Prince Pizzeria and Restaurant 


U.S. Route 1, Saugus, Mass.

Originally part of a small chain of resaturants opened by the Prince Spaghetti Company, operated as the Prince Spaghetti Houses. The chain broke up by the early 60’s and this unit was taken over by an employee who through hard work and perserverance made it a huge success. The restaurant has been enlarged over the years.

 The Leaning Tower


Route 3A, Quincy, Mass. photo circa 1980’s (since demolished)
This was also part of the Prince Spaghetti House chain.
Notice the small section of building to the left, this is the first
Dunkin’ Donuts store.

Mister Donut 


Route 53 in South Weymouth, Mass., photo circa 1992

 Mister Donut


Route 3A, Weymouth, Mass., photo circa 1992
I shot both this one and the one above just prior to the chain being absorbed totally by Dunkin’ Donuts.

 Gary’s Remember When Drive-in Restaurant


Marlboro Street, Keene, NH, photo circa 1995
Since converted to auto dealership.

Responses

  1. I found your site on Google and read a few of your other entires. Nice Stuff. I’m looking forward to reading more from you.

  2. Hi Larry,
    Your blog is really great! Really enjoy all the cool roadside stuff. I’ve got a blog about roadside travel too. If you care to check it out here it is: http://www.eccentricroadside.blogspot.com/
    I’ve added a link to your blog. Perhaps you’ll do the same for me? Thanks!
    Gunnar Johnson

  3. Hi Larry –
    I put your blog in my folder of sites to check daily. Its been fun reading! Good stuff! Lots of photos – I like that. After looking at the Clam Box and Ship restaurants, etc., it made me think of a place my parents talk about going to when they were teenagers, called the Pink Elephant. It was a drive-in restaurant. It was in East Providence, I believe (if not EP, then it was in nearby Seekonk). I’ve never seen a photo of it (and I don’t know if there was an elephant on the building). Do you know the place? I’d love to see a photo of it! Denise

  4. Sorry Denise, I have never heard of it. But maybe someone else knows or remembers something. Being that your parents are still young, hopefully there is something out there even in ciberspace about the Pink Elephant. Thanks for the compliments on Diner Hotline.

  5. Thank you for this excellent website.
    We visited the Wakefield 4th of July Parade today and there was mention of the “Indian Trading Post”.
    I was glad to see the photo which really brought back memories.

  6. Judy, I am very happy that I took a couple of shots of the place when I did. It was there forever and then it was gone! My wife and I were at the parade also, we were in front of Alano’s store.

  7. Outstanding personal collection — especially that 1992 Mister Donut. I’m a tad bit confused as to the original Dunkin’ Donuts in Quincy, Mass. — the current building was Leaning Tower Pizza?

  8. Looking at your photos of the current building, it looks to be in the same position as where the Leaning Tower was. The original Dunkin’ Donuts building according to old photos I’ve seen was on the corner of the side street. My shot of the Leaning Tower shows the Dunkin Donuts building to the left which would be closer to the corner. I would have to go down to Quincy to really take a look and say for sure.

  9. Searching for a photo of the “Pink Elephant” Seekonk, Mass for an autobiography I am writing. Do you have any in your files>
    Thanks

    • Hello, I have a photo of the Pink elephant, but I am an artist and I am creating a soon to be released lithogrpaph of many of the old Rhode Island and enarby Mass drive in theaters and burgers sports.
      it will all be up on my website SOON.
      check it out on frankgalasso.com
      thanks!

      • My friend has the original “Pink Elephant” sign. It has been restored to as new…or better condition!

  10. I think the Dunkin’ Donuts building is original from the 50’s. Up through the 1960’s the Leaning Tower building was (I think) 7E’s, which was a famous South Shore clam shack. I have an old postcard of it somewhere, and I’d be interested to see if it was in fact the same building.

    I would love to see if anyone has a picture or “Howdy’s”, a McDonalds-type fast food restaurant which was a joint venture with Dunkin’ Donuts. It lasted until the mid 1970’s and was located in the current Wendy’s building across the street from Dunkin’ Donuts.

    • I love Howdy’s. That’s where my hubby and I met in HS and married. We worked at the Concord NH location…I have an Alumni of Howdy’s page on facebook…would love to see some pictures too. I have a few on my site

      • laurie: I worked at howdy beefburger in concord nh around 1964. my first job. would love to have a picture of the place. royalf66@gmail.com

  11. I thought Sevigny’s (7E’s) was across the street. Leaning Tower was there from the late 50’s or early 60’s as Prince Spaghetti House prior to being operated as Leaning Tower. So I think Sevigny’s was not the same building. I have yet to find many photos of Howdy Beef Burgers. William Rosenberg (Dunkin Donuts founder) left a good portion of his papers and photos in an archive at University of New Hampshire. If you google Howdy Beef Burger (in images) one will pop up. Maybe the Hisrtorical Society in Quincy has photos as well as the Crane Library.

  12. That could very well be. I always thought that 7E’s was located between the current Dunkin’ Donuts and the Stop and Shop building, but it was before my time so I may be wrong. If the Leaning Tower does indeed date from the 1950’s then then it probably was across the street, as both establishments would have been operating at the same time.

    I have found some pictures of Howdy’s on the net, but I would love to see one in color. I remember the chain as a child from the 1970’s. I also vaguely remember the Mayflower Diner where the McDonald’s was built (I think in 1976 or so).

    I’ll pull out my postcard of 7E’s tonight and take a closer look! Thanks for the info.

    • I have been trying to locate some pictures of 7E’s Clam Stand for quite awhile and just found this site.

      How could I get a copy?

      Charles P. Sevigny was the owner and part of my family.

      As a kid we would go there on our way to Nantasket Beach.

      Thanks Tom

      • My grandfather was Wilfred P. Sevigny, and my father, Wilfred A. Sevigny, was his eldest son. There were six children in the family, and, I believe that Charles (my Uncle Charlie) was the youngest, although maybe Harold was the youngest. Never did know for sure. The clam stand was on the same side of the street as the Stop&Shop, on the right, heading toward Weymouth (south?) The clams were the best ever and none have ever come close.
        I would love to see a photo of the clam stand if anyone has one. Dunkin Donuts must have come after 7E’s. Morely Pearl’s, down (and across) the street was a Johnny-come-lately competitor.
        I’m glad to see that so many people remember the clam stand.

      • Addendum:

        The stand was built, owned, and operated by my grandfather, Wilfred P. Sevigny. All three sons worked there at one time or another until the War.

      • another adendum. Sorry: Willfred P. Sevigny had four sons (my father had three brothers).

    • Any chance to get a copy of a 7E’s clam shack photo?
      My father worked there back in the 50’s.
      It would be great to show my grandkids.
      Lenny

      • I don’t know of any photos of my grandfather’s clam stand (called a clam stand, by the way, not a clam shack). We were not much of a picture-taking family. I’m am happy that there are still people who remember 7E’s.

        Those clams were wonderful. In more than 60 years I have never had any as good.
        –Marjorie

      • Len,

        I have written to my niece to ask her Dad (my oldest brother, 10 years older than I) for any information or memories of the clam stand. I will let you know if and when I hear from him. He will have a much better memory of the stand than I have.
        –Marjorie

  13. Well, I think that 7E’s was indeed on the Dunkin’ Donuts side of the Southern Artery in Quincy. My postcard has a map on the top and the little red square showing the location of 7E’s is on that side of the road. I also found a couple of posts online from people that remember 7E’s being next to the Leaning Tower. I also found an interesting picture of a place in Cambridge called “Richards Drive-In”, which evidently had a location across the street from 7E’s in Quincy as well. I had never heard of that one…..

  14. You can find a couple of pictures of Richard’s Drive-In in Medford as well as a menu on my post from last year…

    http://dinerhotline.wordpress.com/?s=Richard%27s+drive+in

    So the line-up for that side of the Southern Artery must have been roughly Dunkin Donuts, Prince Spaghetti House, 7-E’s and Mayflower Diner but I’m not sure. I checked out Will Anderson’s Lost Diners of New York and New England and he has the 7E’S postcard you mentioned in the book. He mentions that it is where Dunkin DOnuts parking lot is. I will have to check with a friend who lives down the street. He is older and may recall the exact location.

  15. Thanks for taking the pictures over the years. I managed the Mister Donut on 3A in North Weymouth in the mid-70s, so it brought back a lot of memories.

  16. Wowsers! Seeing the Leaning tower of Pizza, and Mr. Donut after so many years was a delight. Mr. Donut had theeeee BEST donuts.
    Does anyone remember Prince Non-skid spaghetti? It looked like spaghetti with a permanent; and was formed in long wiggly strands that would not slip off the fork. I’m getting on in years and could use the aid of that non-skid food.

    This is a wonderful site please keep it going.

  17. Across the street from the original Dunkin Donuts and the Leaning Tower of Pizza was the Morey Pearl restaurant which was torn down and is now Quirk Ford

  18. Marjorie, I recently discovered that I am also related to Charles Sevigny and am interested in communicating with you about the 7E’s Clam Shack and Sevigny’s Candy Company. We enjoyed Sevigny’s Ribbon Candy for Christmas growing up in Maine. I am on Facebook so look me up if you would like to share information…Randall Souviney (Sevigny)

    • Dear Mr. Souviney,

      I’m sorry that I don’t know how to commuicate on Facefbook, being naturally shy of that sort of worldwide exposure. Charles had two children, Joanna (a year or two older than I) and a younger son (don’t recall his name). Maybe I can venture on to Facebook and look up your name. I’ll ask some friends for some instruction.

      After the war, my Uncle Charlie and my father started up 7E’s ribbon candy again (there was no sugar available for candy during the war). The new plant was in Hanover. It may be that my other two uncles had financial interests in the enterprise, but I’m not sure of that.

      I did, however, go up and down Pleasant Street for a mile in each direction taking orders for the ribbon candy for Christmas, and then delivering it in snowstorms just before the holiday (money for Christmas shopping). The candy was as thin and delicious as it had always been. After a few years, the business was sold to Washburn Candy Co., and that was the last I saw of it for some time, having left the area. I was surprised to see it in the grocery store when we returned many years later, but it was thick and tough–nothing like it was before. I haven’t seen it in a long time, so I have no idea whether it is still being made by anyone..

      • Hi Aunt Marjorie –

        Yes, it’s still being made. I see it in the stores here in Maryland every christmas. How are you?

      • Lorrie,

        What you see in the stores now is probably made by Washburn who bought out the company. It is not nearly as thin as Sevigne’s ribbon candy. Your grandfather and his brothers tried everything imaginable to make packaging that would make it possible to ship it long distances without breakage, but nothing worked, so their distribution was limited. Everything they tried ended up with the candy in a pile of crumbs in the box. When I saw it again after many years, I was very disappointed and never bought it again. We’re fine.

    • Looking for a pic of the old Morey Pearl Pizza place…. any related stories, photos, ideas?

      • Sorry Jerry, you might find some info and photos of Morey Pearl’s at the Quincy Historical Society.

  19. Does anyone have a picture of Morey Pearls Restaurant in Quincy, MA.
    I loved that place. I used to live in North Quincy in the late 50’s & 60’s.

    • There may be old photos or postcards of Morey Pearls some where, maybe the Thomas Crane Library or the Historical Society both in Quincy.

  20. The Milk Bottle in Raynham is still there and operating.

  21. The Prince Pizza place in Saugus is still there. I haven’t eaten there since the late 1960’s though and then only had the pizza, but it was worth stopping there then.

  22. I grew up on the street next to the Mister Donut on Rt 53. Thanks for posting that picture. I use to sweep the parking lot as a kid so they would give me a box of day old donuts! What a deal!

  23. Hello to all, I am looking for a photo of or any info on a certain MISTER DONUT store that I knew of from LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK – – maybe in PLAINVIEW , Long Island – – I had done some film taping there back in the summer of 1977 – – on a Bell and Howell motion / no – sound camera – – on KODACHROME tape – – It is great to watch no matter how many times I see it – – memories will never die – – Which can be seen on Youtube as Hollywood Joe New York 1976 – 1977 or maybe the name of the video is Hollywood Joe Queens, New York 1976 – 1977 – – ( I have many videos there at Youtube) – – what ever I have it listed as there is the MISTER DONUT as well as the DUNKIN’ DONUTS stores of 147th street and Northern Boulevard in Flushing , New York – – thank you , Joe Nania A.K.A. Hollywood Joe HERE is the EXACT link to my Youtube videos – – over 200 there to see – – http://www.youtube.com/hollywoodjoe123


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 569 other followers

